top of page

Our History

The Brighton Football Club, nicknamed the Robins, is an Australian Rules Football Club currently playing in the Southern Football League ( Men and Women ) and the Southern Tasmania Junior Football League (Juniors and Youth)

The Club began as Mangalore Football Club in 1885 and participated in various country and suburban leagues throughout Southern Tasmania up until it was accepted to join the Southern Amateurs (TAFL Southern Division) in 1981.


Mangalore continued to participate in the Southern Amateurs, winning the premiership in 1985, until the competition collapsed at the completion of the 1995 season whereby a replacement competition, the STFL (now known as the SFL) was formed and from the 1996 season we were one of eight founding Clubs of the competition and continue to the present day.


In 1996 the Club changed its name from Mangalore to Brighton Football Club but

kept the Robins nickname and red and blue playing colours.


On field success has proved elusive for the Robins since the early days of the

SFL, losing semi-finals in 1996 and 1997 before winning our first Premiership in 1998.

Brighton’s last senior grand final appearance was in 1999 under playing Coach

Byron Howard, who has returned to our Club as our current Senior Coach.


In 2009 our under 18 colts team won the SFL Premiership


In 2019 our Women’s team won the SFLW Premiership in their inaugural year.






Senior Premierships


•          1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1959, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1977, 1979, 1985, 1998




AFL Draftees

•          2009 - Jeremy Webberley        Richmond        No 67 National draft

•          2010 - George Burbury             Geelong            No 40 Rookie draft

•          2011 - Jimmy Webster              St. Kilda            No 42 National draft

•          2014 - Zak Webster                   Hawthorn        No 48 Rookie draft

bottom of page